Now Playing: May 2009

Mid-month and I’m anxiously awaiting the latest release from mewithoutYou.  Here’s what I’ve been listening to in the meantime…

  • Band of Horses, “Cease To Begin
    • Feeling pretty late-to-the-party with these guys, but this album is really good.  A Neil Young vibe to it, I suppose, but really good soft, alt-rock, indie tunes with an occasional ‘bite’ to it.
  • Neko Case, “Blacklisted
    • Last month I was turned on to Neko Case’s latest album, “Middle Cyclone”, which is really good. I’ve since stumbled upon an earlier release of hers, “Blacklisted”, which I’ve been spinning quite a bit.  Can this lady belt it out?  Check out her song ‘Deep Red Bells’. Whoa.
  • The Working Title, “About-Face
    • I don’t know a whole about these guys, but this album offers some good tunes.  It borders on the “emo” sound, but (in my opinion) doesn’t go too far into that camp.
  • Metric, “Fantasies
    • (Emphatically!) suggested by a co-worker of mine, this is their latest release, and is somewhat more commercial than their previous efforts.  On the other hand, it’s also really, really good.  (Warning: swears on track #3)
  • The Last Town Chorus, “Wire Waltz
    • Perhaps the anti-thesis of the previous band (Metric), though both feature female vocalists.  The Last Town Chorus is unashamedly mellow, tender, and moving.  The Bowie cover “Modern Love” is a bit of a standout track.
  • The Hives, “The Black And White Album
    • Upbeat music that almost feels like a frat album.  Still, this is an obviously talented group of guys, and a very good release.  (Note: awesome album cover too!)

‘Tis all for now.

4 Responses to “Now Playing: May 2009”


  1. 1 Marcus Taylor May 19, 2009 at 6:05 am

    I just got Jeremy Enigk’s “OK Bear” album, and I’m really digging it. Could’ve used some more strings, if you ask me, but it’s still really enjoyable to listen to.

  2. 2 yipcanjo May 19, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Yeah… I was just finishing up my first listen-thru of ‘OK Bear’ this morning! Pretty good, though not as inspiring as ‘World Waits’, in my opinion. I’ll need to listen some more, though.


  1. 1 Lyrics o’ the day « Y.I.P.C.A.N.J.O Trackback on May 20, 2009 at 5:27 pm
  2. 2 Ruh-roh! Burned by the Zune Marketplace :( « Y.I.P.C.A.N.J.O Trackback on September 24, 2009 at 1:24 pm
Comments are currently closed.




