Just “Fix It” already.

Came across an interesting solution earlier this week while working on a co-worker’s PC.  Her re-purposed XP box was showing an error with the CD/DVD drive, and I could not for the life of me figure out how to fix it.

Observe (but ignore the whole Spanish thing)…

CD-exclamation

Note the exclamation next to the HL-DT-ST drive.  Uninstalling and reinstalling the device didn’t help any, moving the cable to a different IDE slot didn’t change anything, and even connecting an entirely new drive didn’t help!  Finally I did what I should’ve done in the first place: search for an answer.  I searched Google for “HL-DT-ST exclamation” and eventually landed on a FixYa.com page.  One of the posts there pointed me to a Microsoft KB article, and that is where I found this little fella…

Logo_FixIt_Final[1]

I remembered reading a quick blurb about this new service (tool?) from Microsoft, but I had never seen it, used it, or dug in any deeper.  Not wanting to sit at this co-worker’s desk any longer, I threw caution to the wind and clicked on the “Fix It” link. 

Here’s a screenshot rundown of how things went…

FixIt02

Downloading the recommended “fix”…

FixIt03

Choosing to run the fix…

FixIt04

Reading through the license terms, committing them to memory, praying over it, and finally selecting “I Agree” before hitting Next…

FixIt05

I totally didn’t read this screen, but if her iTunes doesn’t work afterwards, well… OOOPS! 🙂

FixIt06

The “actual fix” that’s taking place here.  Seems vaguely familiar, actually.

FixIt07

The requisite “reboot”…

FixIt08

And there’s the CD/DVD drive!

FixIt09

Well… color me impressed!  I realize that this “fix” was likely only deleting a couple of registry entries that I could’ve handled myself, but this was much easier.  Even better, I like knowing that upon occasion I can simply point users to a “Fix It” article and allow them to walk through the steps themselves.

Anyhow, the selection of “Fix It’” articles is pretty limited right now, but I like the direction that this is going.  It’s a good tool for Microsoft to offer, and PC vendors ought to be pleased as well: fewer phones calls to their (historically poor) support centers.

