You’ve been ‘U2d’!

Tried to login to my Zune account this morning to grab U2’s new album, ‘No Line On The Horizon’.  They have the album, of course, but it doesn’t do me much good if I can’t login! 

Zune_U2_error

Looks like the Zune servers have been ‘U2d’! (Similar to Punk’d, Rickrolled, etc.)

Maybe I’ve coined a new phrase?! 🙂

8 Responses to “You’ve been ‘U2d’!”


  1. 1 Josh March 4, 2009 at 5:11 am

    Just listened on Rhapsody. Sorry to say that it’s pretty much underwhelming for me…I’ll leave it at that in case anyone likes it. :o) “Breathe” is probably the most interesting track. Others may grown on me, but “Best since Achtung” it’s not. Wish it were.

  2. 2 yipcanjo March 4, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    I’ve listened to the entire album a couple of times now, and I generally *do* like what I hear. There are a few interesting tracks, as you mentioned, that I find very curious and enjoyable — ‘No Line On The Horizon’, ‘Breathe’, ‘Unknown Caller’, ‘FEZ-Being Born’ — and some other tracks that feel very much like quintessential U2. That’s not bad, per se, just not ‘mind-blowing’.

    I’m going to wait a bit before passing final judgment. I’m doubting that Achtung Baby (or other ‘classic U2 albums’) really hit me right away, and this might be the same. 🙂

  3. 3 Josh March 4, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    I remember the first time I heard/saw “Even Better Than The Real Thing” on MTV and I was mesmerized. The whole album was great in my ears the first spin. (I use Achtung as my example because those are the comparisons that I’ve been hearing from the critics: “Best since Achtung…” Joshua Tree is still tops in my book.) I think my expectations were up for something to hit me like Elevation or Vertigo. I do remember that I didn’t like “Beautiful Day” the first couple of times I heard it (I do like the A side “hits”). I do think songs on there can grow on me, but nothing grabbed me and threw me on the floor like I wanted them to – lol – I saw them on Letterman after listening and Magnificent sounded better live. I definitely want to go see them, I blew a chance to see them for the All That You Can’t Leave Behind tour, not going to do that again, want to see them before they’re in their fifties – lol Yeah, we’re getting that old. :o)

  4. 4 yipcanjo March 5, 2009 at 12:29 am

    “I think my expectations were up for something to hit me like Elevation or Vertigo.”

    I hear you there. As my buddy Andy first suggested, there don’t seem to be quite as many “radio hits” on this album compared with previous releases. Then again, the “radio hits” are usually the songs I end up skipping past first because I get so tired of them, so it might be a good thing. 🙂

  5. 5 Josh March 5, 2009 at 1:40 am

    I often wonder how bands are able to keep performing the same songs over and over again, ad infinitum, and I’ve heard about the fatigue associated with this, in fact U2 often comes to mind because of the interviews I’ve seen about their fatigue with their own songs before they “went away to dream it all up again” in 89(?) I, on the other hand, never get tired of the “radio hits” lol, my tastes grow beyond them and I learn to love whole albums, but in the beginning it’s the slow and odd songs I skip. I guess I’m a pop kid, oh well – lol – on the other hand, I eschew a lot of stuff that’s popular, I’m just me I guess. Finally getting a stereo put back in my car so I can sing in my car at the top of my lungs again btw – lol Used Christmas money to go for the Alpine CDA 9887 with hopes of getting the tuning gear as well… So yeah, when I see reviews by Rolling Stone claiming five stars and “best since…”, I expect a hand full of really cool radio hits with great riffs and hooks and lyrics…I think they intended that with “Get On Your Boots”…but it doesn’t really do it for me, in fact I hear a lot of elements that sound recycled to me in there. In others, I do hear classic U2 elements that are welcome sounds, but that song sounds recycled from some Apple commercial – lol

  6. 6 yipcanjo March 5, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    Having listened to the album all the way through several times now, I notice something *very* interesting: I find the 2nd half of the album more compelling than the 1st half! Although I really enjoy the song ‘No Line On The Horizon’, I’m finding that I start to really enjoy the album again around the time that ‘Stand Up Comedy’ hits, and especially thru ‘Breathe’ (awesome song!) and ‘Cedars of Lebanon’. The first half of the album — save for the title track — feels much more quintessential U2 to me, whereas the 2nd half feels more edgy, experimental, and “fresh”.

    Just my $.02 🙂

  7. 7 Josh March 6, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    Well, I’m getting my new stereo installed in my car this weekend, so I’ll have to give it another listen or two. It’s easier for me to sit and explore new stuff when it’s in my car. 😀

  8. 8 albumdujour March 10, 2009 at 3:20 am

    I had this same logging in problem! I’m a happy Zune user, you see (otherwise I might not be as inclined to be writing an album-a-day blog), so it threw me for a loop. Lucky thing that was fixed, eh?

    I really love the new U2 album, mainly because because I’m not looking back to their catalog of hits and thinking “this should be better” like many of the critics. It doesn’t really *have* to be better, the band has never failed to sell MILLIONS of albums even when their stuff was a bit sub-par (Rattle & Hum and How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb are considered the closest to failure U2 has ever come, though the tour supporting “Pop” almost bankrupted them), but what I like about this new album is that it sounds like they’re starting over, not repeating the past, but working hard to create new and interesting things, and in fact I love this shouty little album for it. It might not be worth the price of admission for the $90 special edition that doesn’t even have extra music on it anywhere, but yeah definitely $10 well spent.

    I’m a pretty recent U2 fan myself (roughly 5 years I guess), and they kind of have this “every song is a hit” effect on me, which makes it a bit hard to be around people who constantly detract from the band just because they’re egomaniacs.


Comments are currently closed.




