The “Politics of Modern-Day Science”

A few days ago (while unable to sleep), I finished watching the recent Ben Stein documentary, ‘Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed’.  If you care at all about science, evolution, or ‘Intelligent Design’, this movie is worth watching.  It’s also humorous and well-made.  For those with streaming Netflix accounts, you can easily add this movie to your Watch Now queue!

Let me first say that I am a believe in ‘Intelligent Design’ and ‘Creationism’.  They are NOT one and the same.  That said, I believe in the God of the Bible, I believe that God created the Universe, I believe that God created the Earth, and I believe that God created Mankind in His image.  I also believe that Jesus Christ is came to this earth as both God and man, died for our sins, rose again, and that those who have accepted Him as Lord and Savior will live forever with Him in Heaven.  Does that make me a right-wing, naive, brain-washed Bible-thumper?  Perhaps it does.  So be it.

Moving right along…

You might be surprised, as I was, to find out that the movie ‘Expelled’ was not pro-Intelligent Design.  Rather, the movie attempts to shine a light on the fact that those who are brave enough to ‘suggest’ that Intelligent Design at least be considered as a viable option regarding the beginning of this earth (and mankind) are systematically shut-down, belittled, and ostracized.  The movie features no support of Intelligent Design or Creationism, nor does it necessarily attack the theory of evolution, but boy has it made people hot under the collar.  So much so, that a search on Google for ‘expelled’ first brings up a sponsored link to a website called ExpelledExposed, which happens to be maintained by the National Center for Science Education.  Touted as an “anti-evolution movie”, the NCSE seems obligated (for whatever reason) to answer this movie.  Watch the movie for yourself and decide.  Is it anti-evolution, or is it simply asking that “all theories be considered”?

Hot on the tails of watching this movie, I head out for lunch with a good friend (and co-worker) of mine.  Although he’s not a “religious guy”, he touted many views that fall-in-line with ‘Expelled’ as we began discussing it.  I was quite surprised, actually, and I listened intently to what he had to say.  Today, he emailed an article to me, titled  ‘Aliens Cause Global Warming’ featuring a speech from the late Michael Crichton.  The article is far less sensational than you would think, and is really worth reading if you have 15 or 20 minutes to spare.  It is well-written and easy to read.

Here’s the issue at hand, as I see it: science has become majorly politically motivated.  Gone are the days of devising a theory, setting out to prove it, and taking the results at face value.  Now we get our major scientific statements based upon a “consensus view”, where we believe what we believe simply because a group of scientists (or politicians or whomever) have said so.  It seems that science has become a religious movement, and has thus declared a holy war against anyone who would stand in its way.  It’s frightening, really, because science should serve mankind, not itself.

As a Christian, I’ve never felt particularly “at odds” with science.  I believe in God, I believe in the Bible, and I believe that science ultimately (and eventually) supports what the Bible says.  I also understand that much of what I believe and live by is based upon faith.  Faith, as defined in Hebrews 11, is “being sure of what we hope for, and certain of what we do not see”.  Science needn’t be scary to believers, but I now find that the “scientific establishment” is.  These are folks with an agenda who wrap it up with ‘science’ packaging and present it to the public as “truth” – never mind whether or not it can be proven. 

So sad.

3 Responses to “The “Politics of Modern-Day Science””


  1. 1 kdogg1 January 6, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    Loved this movie…thinking about buying it. My wife and I saw it when it was playing at the Lynnwood Theaters and were riveted to the screen.

  2. 2 Josh February 12, 2009 at 4:55 am

    I had seen this on the shelf at one of our local Christian bookstores, I was curious about it, especially since I didn’t really think Ben Stein had converted – lol So then it’s even more interesting to me that it’s not actually anti-evolution, nor pro-intelligent design. I’ve noticed for years though that the Christian community tends to want to grab ahold of anything that is remotely sympathetic to our worldview…which I understand, it can be lonely believing what we believe. :o)

  3. 3 yipcanjo February 16, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    Considering the “Christian nation” that we live in, it definitely feels lonely believing the way that we do….

    Sad, but true.


Comments are currently closed.




