What if you can’t “Google” it?

About 100ft from our house, on the corner, is a fairly tall metal pole with a solar panel affixed on top.  Observe:

solarCorrosionCollection01

Toward the bottom of the pole is a locked metal box with the words “Solar Corrosion Control Station”.  Check it out:

solarCorrosionCollection02

You know what?  I have NO IDEA what that box does, but judging from the rust on the pole and box, it doesn’t appear to be “controlling corrosion” particularly well.  What’s a guy to do?  Oh, I know – we’ll search for it on Google!!!  The answers will abound.

Unless, of course, Google doesn’t know either.  Here’s what comes back…

solarCorrosionCollection_searchGoogle

Live Search fails as well…

solarCorrosionCollection_searchLive

The *only* clue that I have so far is something that my neighbor said a few months back.  He claims that the “solar corrosion control station” ties in with the natural gas lines in our area, collects a small charge from the solar panel, and that charge helps keep the gas lines from rusting.  Sounds plausible, I guess, but it’s *really* strange to search for something like this and find nothing.  Nadda.  Zip.  Zilch.

In fact, it’s kinda spooky.

3 Responses to “What if you can’t “Google” it?”


  1. 2 yipcanjo October 13, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    Crap! I’ve been pwned!! Nice find, Matt! 🙂

    Mystery solved, *and* my neighbor was right…


  1. 1 Wacky green check marks on my file icons « Y.I.P.C.A.N.J.O Trackback on October 22, 2008 at 10:11 pm
Comments are currently closed.




