Oops! Zune “MixView” missed an obvious tie-in…

The “MixView” presentation within the latest Zune software is really a pretty nice visual representation of related Artists, Albums, and Users to a particular artist/album that you might be looking at.  Read more on my Zune 3.0 software thoughts here.

Or don’t.

Anyhow, it goes without saying that any piece of software isn’t without it’s flaws, but upon checking out the latest Chris Cornell single today — recommended by a co-worker — I noticed that the MixView missed some pretty obvious (to me) tie-ins for Mr. Chris Cornell.

Observe:

See anything missing there?  How about “Soundgarden”?  How about “Audioslave”?  Reaching a bit further, how about “Temple of the Dog”??  Perhaps some of those tie-ins are too obvious, but you *know* that there are some folks out there listening to Chris Cornell who have no knowledge whatsoever of Soundgarden, Audioslave, and so on.  Trust me on this.  I had a classmate in 10th grade who did not know who The Beatles were.

I’m serious.

Tighten it up, Zune team!  🙂

3 Responses to “Oops! Zune “MixView” missed an obvious tie-in…”


  1. 1 Mitch October 2, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Maybe they are trying to get away from the obvious and help you find music outside of the normal stuff you listen to.

  2. 2 yipcanjo October 2, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    Well, I alluded to that possibility in my blog entry. Certainly a plausible theory, especially since I can’t find “Screaming Trees” relate to “Mark Lanegan”, or “Nirvana” related to “Foo Fighters”, but it does present an interesting conundrum: how obvious is too obvious? If I’m checking out Bauhaus, I might expect that Love & Rockets is too obvious, but how about Tones On Tail? How about Dali’s Car?

    That said, I’m not exactly sure what thought-process (read: algorithm)is behind the MixView recommendations. I’d be curious to find out, though, and I do use it, for what that’s worth…

  3. 3 kdogg1 October 10, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    How anyone could not know about Temple of the Dog or Soundgarden is beyond me!! On a side note, Cornell is the man! I shall have to buy his latest single…for my iPod of course. :p


Comments are currently closed.




