Album Rewind: The Sugarcubes – “Life’s Too Good”

Per my wife’s request to hear The Sugarcubes again, I purchased and downloaded their 1988 release, “Life’s Too Good” from Rhapsody — one of my new, favorite music download sites.  Amazon MP3 is another.  But I digress…

For the unlearned among us, this is the band that Bjork was in before Bjork was a solo act.  They released several albums through the late 80s and early 90s, though to limited commercial success in the United States.  My wife and I both purchased this album years ago (on cassette tape, no less) and loved it.  We’ve never owned it on CD, though, and it quickly became out of sight, out of mind.  Oh, how the memories come back!  It’s amazing how you can remember the subtle nuances of an album even after so many years.  Needless to say, this is a great album and we’re both happy to have it back.

I tell you one thing that has really surprised me in listening to this album again is the “timeless” quality of the music.  “Life’s Too Good” is celebrating its 20 year anniversary this year, but the music honestly sounds every bit as current and relevant today as it did 20 years ago.  It’s not 80s synth-cheeze.  Seriously.

Some favorite tracks:

#2 – Motorcrash
#4 – Delicious Demon
#6 – Cold Sweat

Good stuff, and worth checking out if you’ve never heard this album.

3 Responses to “Album Rewind: The Sugarcubes – “Life’s Too Good””


  1. 1 Marcus Taylor August 16, 2008 at 5:01 am

    I keep *wanting* to get into Bjork’s music, sugarcubes or solo, but when I listen it’s like there’s something blocking me from absolutely loving it. I’m sure there’ll come a time when that light turns on and I’ll be like “Why the heck haven’t I been listening to this woman all this time!?”… but we’ll see.

    I always associated Bjork with Radiohead though, not completely sure why. I know Bjork and Thom Yorke did a song together at some point, so I guess that would be why. Either way, I’m a muuuch bigger fan of Radiohead, they’re one of my favorite bands.

    Do you like Radiohead?

  2. 2 yipcanjo August 18, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    To be honest, I was never much of a Radiohead fan until “In Rainbows” was released. Incredible album. I was just listening to it this morning, in fact. I’ve also purchased “OK Computer”, but I don’t find myself enjoying it all that much. Hmmm.

    For the record, I’m not really a “Bjork” fan. I don’t have any of her albums, nor do I feel compelled to check them out. I dig that first Sugarcubes album, but almost as a one-off effort. Just my $.02.

  3. 3 Josh September 19, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    Hey Yip,

    So you like Rhapsody then? Glad to hear it. :o) Slacker finally came out with a mini portable player so I might give them a go too. I like their music “stations” better than Rhapsody (the collections of music they mix for you to download to a player), but then I like the ability on Rhapsody to listen to whatever you want, anytime you want, whether it be a single song, a whole album or an entire discography (if they have it in their catalog of course). Nice thing about Slacker though is that they do have a basic service even for the portables that is free with some commercials. So you pay an arm and a leg for the player and then nothing else if you don’t want the premium service. I also like the idea of WiFi updating. I am lazy, so the Slacker moniker and concept definitely applies to me! lol

    Josh


Comments are currently closed.




