For the heartless among us…

So, I took my loose coins to a Coinstar machine this morning.  Does everyone else have these around?  I think so.

Anyhow, I typically take my coins to a Coinstar machine so that I can get “MONEY”.  You know… MONEY?  I’m not filling up my Starbucks card, Best Buy card, or anything else.  Ahhh… but there’s another option: I can “donate” my change to charity.  That selection looks something like this on the Coinstar machine:

See that happy little “heart” in the graphic?  That’s the subtle dig at your conscience.  “People with a heart give their change to charity”, the rest of us suffer horrible, selfish lives as we hoard our change like modern day Scrooges.  Perhaps the “I’m-not-giving-my-money-to-charity” option ought to look this this?

I’m going to suggest it to Coinstar.

By the way, I got $15.94 from my change jar today.  I ate at Subway for lunch.  Mmmm.

4 Responses to “For the heartless among us…”


  1. 1 Matt Swann May 15, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Does Coinstar charge a fee for turning coins into cash? Some of the First Tech CU branches have machines that will do it for free, at least here in Redmond…

  2. 2 yipcanjo May 15, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    Yes, Coinstar charges a fee. 8.9 cents per dollar, currently.

    Hmmm… free “coins to cash” machines (or people) would be VERY nice! Just so long as I don’t have to roll them… 🙂

  3. 3 Matt Swann May 15, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    I suppose you could always hand your kids a stack of coin rolls, a bag of coins, and tell them they can split 5c per dollar – that way you undercut Coinstar, don’t have to find a First Tech branch, and don’t have to roll them yourself…

    (That’s what kids are, right – free labor? 🙂 )

  4. 4 yipcanjo May 15, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    Sadly, I don’t think even my kids would work for THAT cheap… 🙂


Comments are currently closed.




